Thursday, July 26, 2007

It finally exists. 32 men and women were sworn in today to fulfill various posts in the Nigerian government. Nigeria's Constitution requires that at least one minister must come from each state, so it must have been quite a task to finalize this list.

The following is a list of the named Ministers and their deputies/junior ministers.

1. Attorney-General/Minister of Justice: Mr Michael Aondoakaa (SAN)
2. Agriculture/Water Resources: Abba Sayyadi Ruma
3. Agriculture/Water Resources: Adamu Maina Waziri (State 1)
4. Commerce/Industry: Chief Charles Ugwu
5. Commerce/Industry (State): Ahmed Garba Bichi
6. Culture/Tourism: Adetokunbo Kayode
7. Culture/Tourism (State): Aliyu Idi Hong
8. Defence: Yayale Ahmed
9. Defence (State): Mrs Fidelia Njeze
10. Education: Igwe Aja-Nwachukwu
11. Education (State 1): Agada Anthony Jerry
12. Education (State 2): Mrs Aishatu Jibril Dukku
13. Energy (State): Power Mrs Fatima Ibrahim
14. Energy (State) Petroleum: Henry Odein Ajumogobia
15. Energy (State) Gas: Odusina Emmanuel
16. Environment/Housing: Mrs Halima Alao
17. FCT: Dr Aliyu Modibbo Umar
18. FCT (State): Sen. John Akpanudoedehe
19. Finance: Dr Shamsuddeen Usman
20. Finance (State): Aderemi Babalola
21. Foreign Affairs: Ojo Maduekwe
22. Foreign Affairs (State 1): Tijjani yahaya Kaura
23. Foreign Affairs (State 2): Amb. Bagudu Hirse
24. Health: Prof. Adenike Grange
25. Health (State): Gabriel Aduku
26. Information/Communication: John Odey
27. Information/Communication (State): Ibrahim Nakande
28. Interior: Maj.-Gen. Godwin Abbe (Rtd)
29. Interior (State): Hassan Alhaji Haruna
30. Labour: Dr Hassan Lawal
31. Mines/Steel Development: Chief Sarafa Tunji Isola
32. Mines/Steel Development (State): Ahmed Moh'd Gusau
33. Transportation: Mrs Diezani Alison-Madueke
34. Transportation (State): John Okechukwu Emeka
35. Science/Technology: Mrs Grace Ekpiwhre
36. Youth Development: Sen. Akinlabi Olasunkanmi
37. Women Affairs: Saudatu Usman Bungudu
38. Minister/Deputy Chairman National Planning Commission: Sen. Sanusi Daggash
39. Minister/Chairman, National Sports Commission: Abdulrahman Gimba.

SOURCE: Nigerian Tribune online, 07/26/2007

4 Curiosities. Add Yours.:

Chxta said...

Why in the name of all that is good and holy did Maduekwe make Foreign Minister? Couldn't they give that position to someone more refined?

Another Ikimi on the way people...

TheAfroBeat said...

any idea if there's a place we can read their bios? i've always been intrigued by how the backgrounds of ministers are usually hardly related to the posts their given. particularly interested in the education ministry so will get a-googling to see what qualifications they have for the post.


@ Chxta: I think I read that Madueke did not have relevant experience in one of the papers. Well, we'll see, right?

@ Misan: Good idea. Will search as well over the weekend. I found an interesting article in The Champion I think. Will see if it is still online and send you a link.

Nels said...

One minister per state? How pathetic a law is that?? Who comes up with this stuff?

I'm too angry with Nigeria to write about Nigeria right now. I couldnt even read about Nigeria after the election and now we have stuff like this to deal with: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/6920561.stm

Not a serious nation at all. One day things will change. Mark my words.

Post a Comment

Get curious...share your thoughts, long and short. But, do remain civil.